Cathrineholm Coffee Pots & Kettles (& now pitchers)

Cathrineholm Percolator in front 8 in plate
Cathrineholm Percolator in front 8 in plate

I went to the 20th Century Cincinnati show over the weekend and while I didn’t buy too much I did pick up a few things, among them a Cathrineholm percolator and plate.

While I was a bit disappointed with the design selection, the crowds were huge.  I heard more than a few veteran vendors say it was the largest crowd they had ever seen for the show. It was actually very difficult to get around and look in the booths due to the number of shoppers.  I might write a bit more about the expo later, but back to the cathrineholm….

The above photo shows the Cathrineholm lotus pattern coffee percolator I bought there. It is exactly 8.5 inches tall.  It originally came with a metal percolator inert, which I have inserted a photo of a generic percolator insert to the below to give you an idea of what came with it.  Since no one uses percolators anymore (the drip coffee makers and presses have made percolators redundant, and they aren’t easy to use or clean either) this is now a pitcher and I think that’s the case for everyone who owns or buys these now.  They might as well now be called Cathrineholm lotus pattern pitchers.

Another version of a Cathrineholm coffee pot/ kettle

Cathrineholm did two styles of containers that are called coffee pots by most people or sellers online.  One is my percolator pictured above, which was actually used to make coffee in with the percolator insert. The style of the other one called a “coffee pot”  is

The most common CH tea kettle style.

pictured to the right.  However, it is truly more of a kettle than a coffee pot but I think it is called a coffee pot because of another style that is mainly associated with a “tea kettle” which I have pictured to the left.  So in total there are three styles for the Cathrineholm kettles and coffee pots, but I would say on the one above is a true coffee pot and the other two are kettles.  If anyone can enlighten me on the differences between the two kettles, or why one is “tea” and the other “coffee” please feel free.

I picked up the yellow plate pictured above at another booth at quite a cheap price. The man who had the percolator also had a lotus pattern ice bucket, but I just couldn’t justify spend nearly $300 on an ice bucket.  I must say unlike every other piece of Cathrineholm I’ve ever had or seen in person the ice bucket was a bit disappointing, the form of it is just very typical. But I can’t say I would ever pass one up at a more reasonable price.

Typical percolator insert
2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Just commented on your first Cathrineholm post & then saw this one. I felt the same way about the ice bucket at first (expected form AND the liner is plastic…yuck) but I love it’s storage function. It sits on top of my refrigerator & holds my gran’s vintage cookie cutters. 🙂

    • Hi, well for a $1 I’d be over the moon on an CH icebucket. I think when you see something terribly over priced you try to talk yourself out of it because you know that’s crazy money. But as I said in the post, no way I’d pass it up for a lower price.

      You’re right about it being beautiful storage on shelves. I actually grow orchids and have found vintage icebuckets are wonderful to use to sit the pots in for display. The liners ensure no damage and it looks so good. I would kill to be able to use a CH icebucket in my kitchen for an orchid display, I’d even gladly take one with a gnarly liner and no lid considering what i want to use it for. (If I found a mint cond. one I’d be to scared to use it.)

Leave a Reply

